Nursery pics

While we’re waiting (now D-Day + 5), I thought
I’d post some pics of the nursery, which is 98% complete. That last two percent
consists of a) getting the door (which I refinished) to hang properly (it
squeaks) and b) a baby.


While we’re waiting (now D-Day + 5), I thought
I’d post some pics of the nursery, which is 98% complete. That last two percent
consists of a) getting the door (which I refinished) to hang properly (it
squeaks) and b) a baby.



So, this is it. The rocking chair
was Aleisha’s great grandmother’s. After my uncle Jeff tightened ‘er up, her mom
and brother snuck it down last month. Aleisha made the blanket on the back with
her new sewing machine. I’m concerned our little IKEA table is a bit too wobbly
after we had to ask our friend Matt (Thanks again!) to saw an inch of the bottom
of the legs. One day after work, Aleisha noticed that Chloe was acting a little
sheepish when she let her out of her crate. She often does this if she’s had an
“accident.” When I inspected her crate later that evening, I discovered bits of
wood near the door. Thoroughly confused, I rummaged around in her towel to find
two of the IKEA table legs with the ends chewed. Because I lost the screws, the
parts of the table were setting against the wall by her crate for several weeks.
How she managed to pull two of the legs in is a bit of a mystery. The side of
her crate the legs were near is covered with a blanket, and the legs just barely
fit through the mesh. Guess she’s not as dumb as she
looks!



With a bit of help from my mom,
Aleisha sewed the skirt, bumpers and comforter for the crib. Note the doll we
were using to acclimate Chloe to giving up some attention to someone new. She
didn’t seem to care much that we were carrying around a silent, inanimate object
that we swaddled and powdered. In fact, I think she was laughing inside. We gave
up after a few days, feeling kind of silly ourselves. When Pete and Laura
brought Jacob over for Super Bowl Sunday, she seemed to do OK after an initial
sniff and a few loud “No!”s from
us.



We got the idea for a shelf from a
decorating book we saw at the bookstore. This extends the length of one wall (10
feet) and gives us a bit of additional storage and decorating space. My uncle
Jeff volunteered to build it, while my grandfather and Carolyn did the painting.
Jeff brought it down in two pieces and helped install it back in January. We
love it and really appreciate the hard work!

?TB
