The birth of our son, Delton (Aleisha’s version)

The day finally came that we were able to meet
our new addition. It was amazing that Tim and I brought such a beautiful baby
boy into the world and we were blessed my God to receive such a wonderful gift.



The day finally came that we were able to meet
our new addition. We went to the doctor for a check up on Monday, February 21
and found out that my amniotic fluid was very low, which meant time to induce.
The level should be above 6 cm and mine was 3.2 cm. Thank goodness that we
packed our things, because we had to go to the hospital right
away.

We arrived at the hospital
around 2:30 p.m. on 2/21/05 after calling our parents. We were taken to room 60
(the same room as Pete and Laura), our labor and delivery room. Around 5 p.m.
the nurse placed an IV for my pitocin drip. I was than informed that I had to
stay in bed and could not enjoy the jacuzzi or walk around because Delton had to
be on a monitor at all times due to my condition. The pitocin didn’t kick in
until around 8-ish ? and then it hit hard. My family and Tim’s mom came
for support, but we asked them to leave so I was able to have a quiet room to
concentrate on my breathing. Around 11 p.m. my contractions were horrible so I
opted for narcotics before I took the epidural around midnight.

After receiving my epidural
everything was great. I was able to rest and get some zzzz’s before I had to
start pushing at 6:05 a.m. I was fully dialated at 4 a.m. but Delton was not
facing the correct direction; he was facing my left side, so they left me wait
to see if he would move on his own and he did. It was time to push, and they
asked if I wanted a mirror to watch. I didn’t want to at first, but I was glad
I chose to watch. Being able to actually watch my progress inspired me to try
harder. At 7:07 a.m. Delton came into our world and it was the most amazing
feeling in the world. At that point joy overfilled me. It was amazing that Tim
and I brought such a beautiful baby boy into the world and we were blessed my
God to receive such a wonderful gift.

~AB


Less than an hour later Delton was
able to meet his grandparents and his uncle JR.
