Home Sweet Home!

We are back from our trip to the “huntin camp.” A few highlights from our trip:

Friday

Of course, we were late setting off. We wanted to leave at 9:30, but only got on the road right before 10:30. We thought that we could fit everything in the back of our car with Chloe, but we were wrong. So, Tim had to rig up the luggage carrier for the top of the car, which took forever.

We arrived at The Buckeye Sportsman Club mid afternoon and unloaded everything and just hung out for a bit. That evening we went to the Tioga County Fair and had some good ole fun. After taking the Freesyle off-roadin’ we found a nice parking spot all the way out at the edge of a field.

The first thing we saw when we went into the fair were animal races. They were racing pigs, ducks and goats. Delton was assigned a duck, and it won first place. Yeah!! He received a blue ribbon, but had no clue what was going on.

Of course, when your at a fair you need to look for some good fair eats. I walked up and down the rows of food carts looking for a salad of some sorts – which was not happening. I finally settled on a taco salad without the chips. Tim had pizza and homemade soda, which was a little flat. Tim was beyond excited because they had a mini donut stand. I asked him what the big deal was, and he said that they were fresh and mini sized. Delton settled on a corndog.

After we ate we went to look at the animals. Yes, we looked out of place. We, or should I say Tim, kept taking pictures of all the animals. We sure looked like flat landers (that is what Tiogans call us in southern PA). I think we have become major city folks at time. After spending some time at a petting zoo, we headed back to the cabin for the evening. We were going to try and look for the meteor shower, but it was too cloudy.

Saturday

We were actually able to sleep in. Delton got up around 7:30 and went out with my dad and Maryellen, while Tim, Julia and I kept sleeping until 8. We basically hung out at the cabin for the morning and afternoon. My dad and Maryellen took Delton down to the Pine Creek for some fun. He came back a little wet and so excited about the rocks he saw and played with.

While they were gone, I took the opportunity to finish Harry Potter (I really enjoyed it and I like how it ended – that is all I’m saying, since Tim is reading it next). Later that evening we went to my dad’s step-brother’s house for a picnic. I haven’t seen them for over a year, and it was nice spending time with them.

Delton actually had a chance to go fishing for the first time. He caught one fish, but it got away before they had a chance to real it in. I wish he was able to actually get one and reel it in, but it didn’t work out that way.

While there, Chole, had to find the stinkiest smell in the world and roll in it. So, she had to get a hose bath, which she hates. We also had our first s’mores with peanut butter cups, they were soooooooooooooooooooo good.

We then left for the evening and headed back to the cabin. Chloe still smelled, so she had to get another bath back at the cabin. We then went outside to see if we could the meteor shower and we saw some. So, we laid in the grass for about a half hour looking at the shooting stars. It was very relaxing.

Sunday

We packed everything up and headed off to Knobel’s once again. Delton enjoyed the rides a lot more this time. We also ran into people from Pine Grove, Michele Schoffstall (graduated with Tim and me), Kenny Gibson (he was our assistant band director, but is now the band director for PGA) and Dale’s (my mom’s husband’s) aunt. It was very crowded, but we had a great time.

Finally, we pulled into the parking lot at 11:15 p.m. and were very tired.

We had a great trip and will be heading up to Tioga Labor Day weekend.

I’ll come back later to edit my entry, babies are calling.

3 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home!

  1. sounds like a good time for everyone! I’m so glad you had time to rest, relax, and read. Wish i could have had some good fair food….yummy! So glad you had fun at Knoebel’s too!! Smores w/peanut butter?? I don’t usually eat smores when we are up that way…but I love peanut butter….sounds yummy….you will have to make me one ;-0

  2. Sounds like you had a wonderful trip. I’m jealous. I didn’t even know about the meteor shower. We’d have loved to have seen that.

    I loved the last Harry Potter book too. But, there was so much I had forgotten from the previous one I had to go back and reread the last one…I’m such a ditz.

    I’m glad you had a “relaxing” weekend. It sounds like fun but very busy! I’m a vegetable when we go camping. I love the campground that has all the activities. That way I can sit in my chair in the shade and knit, or read, or do nothing at all but watch the people go by. Of course, I don’t have two babies either.

    Take care, I’ll see you soon. We’re going camping for ten days so I’ll see you at the meeting no doubt.

  3. Sounds like fun! We went camping this past weekend and had a great time too. Adisyn got her first horse ride. She liked it. Hope you have time to relax and recoop from the trip.

Leave a Reply

