Oh, what a trip

Well, as you saw in our last post we were going camping.  We went to Gifford Pinchot State Park, in York County with some friends that use to go to our church.  We had a great time, but of course, like all of our trips we have issues.  Why is that?

We arrived at the park around 6:30 p.m. (45 minute drive). Our goal was to get there before dark, we barely did. We realized we forgot to pack the Pack and Play.  No, big deal.  Julia sleeps on a mat at school, she should be able to do that in the tent.  Go to set up the tent and Tim realizes he grabbed the wrong bag.  He didn’t grab the bag of tent poles, but he grabbed the 2 man tent.  Alright we might fit in – ha.  So, our friends said that some of us could stay in there tent.  So, Julia and I took the 2 man tent and Tim and Delton stayed with our friends in the middle of their tent.  Alright – we should be good.  We’ll go home tomorrow and pick of the poles and everything will be fine.

Well 3:45 am comes around and Julia decides she want to be awake.  I try to calm her down.  I change her pants, I give her water, I sing, etc.  Nothing would help.  She kept crying and fooling around.  At this point I’m mumbling under my breath about how I want to kill my husband for not remembering the tent and the pack and play.  So, finally around 5 a.m. she calms down and falls asleep to sleep until 9 a.m.  When I awoke in the morning I went out to tell Tim what a horrible night I had, to find out he had a crazy one too.  Delton woke up around 3:30 in a coughing fit.  So, he took him for a drive (an hour) to see if he would fall asleep.  He didn’t until they got back to camp.  They then stayed in the car and slept until 6:30.  So, as you can see we had exciting Friday night.

We came home, and quick ran to a birthday party for my grandma and grabbed the pack and play and grabbed the tent poles.  I ordered her a DVD from Barnes and Noble online.  I went to wrap it and it was the wrong item.  They sent an audio book instead.  arggggg!  Printed out a picture and placed it in a box and explained what happened.

So, we get back to camp and set up the tent.  Ready for a night of wonderful sleep.  Well it wasn’t wonderful.   Julia was up again for about an hour.  I finally got her calmed down and she spent the rest of her night snuggled between Tim and me.  She then slept until 9:30.  What a stinker.

Other than that we had a great time with everyone and it was great to see everyone again.  We miss seeing their faces in church.

I was thrilled I packed enough blankets, it was COLD!!!!! Tim thought I packed to many, but I packed almost enough.  If we go again next year, I’m going to back maybe two more blankets and my long johns!  I hope you found humor in our post because we did after the fact.

5 thoughts on “Oh, what a trip

  1. always something with u guys ain’t it? glad u all had fun despite the one night. u brave souls. i was cold in my bed under covers with the window shut!!

Leave a Reply

