A Miracle

As is often the case, we were running late for church today. So as not to disturb the lessons, I took Delton into a side hall and reminded him of the need to be quiet. Of course, as soon as we got into the narthex, he lets out a shout that echoes off the high ceiling into the sanctuary.

I yank him back into the hall, behind closed doors, and set him down on some steps for a time out. After a few crocodile tears, I turn the corner so that he can calm himself down. After a few seconds, I hear him say, “Dear God,” and then mumble something about “my sister.”

I am a bit excited, because this is the first time I’ve ever heard him initiate a prayer, a ritual that we are not very good at keeping regularly. I near the corner, but I am still out of sight as I hear him say:

“And help me because I need to find the bathroom.”

Taking the cue, I walk over to him and ask if his prayer had been answered. “Yeah,” he says, “I heard God’s voice.”

“Oh, and what does he sound like?” I wonder.

“I don’t know,” he shrugs. “Can I go pee now?”

2 thoughts on “A Miracle

  1. I’m still laughing and can’t even manage a decent comment- Can I go pee now? Ha! That is going to be my reply for everything now! Mrs. Messinger, my child is bored. What are you going to do abot it? “I don’t know, can I go pee now?” Mommy, can I have snack? “I don’t know- can I go pee now?” Pam, you child bite two kids again today at day care. “Crap- can I go pee now?”

    See- it works for everything!

Leave a Reply

