Week 1 of Summer

Well we are coming to the end of our first week of summer together, even though we were stuck inside more than we wanted to be, due to the rain.

We had our ups and downs this week.  Hopefully more ups than downs  🙂

Julia exhibited major 2 year old behaviors, throwing tantrums and ready to attack anything that doesn’t go her way. (I’m in the process of reading the Twlight series and I think Julia has the characteristics of a new born vampire.) She has tendencies to whine , freak out and then go in for the kill (teeth). She also has become an expert in tormenting Delton, feeling the sister love here. It is very funny to see that she knows what buttons to push on all of us.

Delton is adjusting well to being home – no complaints from him. I’m trying to work on some preschool skills that he needed to improve upon, he actually is liking it. Delton also attended a local VBS program this week.

We also got to take in a free movie in Lancaster, a Veggie Tale movie.  Explore a new grocery store in Elizabethtown.  They had everything I needed, unlike some other stores around here.  So, I guess that is were we will be going from now on.  It’s kind of funny how driving 15 minutes to a grocery store seems a lot faster now than it did 4 weeks ago (BTW – today we have been our house for 1 month)

Today we made a museum exhibit.  Delton was playing with some creatures he had and was talking about setting up exhibits for each animal in the house.  So, I asked him if he wanted to make an exhibit in a box for some of his creatures and he said, “sure”.  Well we finished an insect and arachnids exhibit. Here are some pictures to enjoy.

How it all started.

How it all started.

Delton adds details.

Delton adds details.

Just need to add the insects and arachnids.

Just need to add the insects and arachnids. Note the Phonetic spelling for his sign. Do you like my 3D tree in the back?

Deltons exhibit sign.  (Insekts and Arknids)

Deltons exhibit sign. (Insekts and Arknids)

The finished product - with insects and arachnids.

The finished product - with insects and arachnids.

Julia's final project.  Note the animals all laying in a heap and broken up.

Julia's final project. Note the animals all laying in a heap and broken up. Also note her hair - I have no clue where her comb is - combed by my fingers like in the olden days.

7 thoughts on “Week 1 of Summer

  1. well, I think my kids need to come live with you- I have not done anything with them- uhm, maybe I need to some lessons to because my kid is giong to K and doesn’t know how to sound out words like that!

  2. I love this!!! I’m so the worst mom and haven’t done anything creative with my kids in ions! We’ve had TONS of rain as well. I’m mean. I need to follow your example!

Leave a Reply

