Girl Dreams

Delton has a habit of crawling into our bed in the middle of the night or very early in the morning. He always comes to my side, because I tend to just roll over and continue sleeping undisturbed. In fact, it’s not unusual for me to wake up wondering how or when he arrived. I think he just likes to cuddle.

This morning, on the way to school, he asked if Julia could sleep with him tonight. I asked Julia what she thought of that plan, and she seemed flattered that her brother would ask. They have shared beds in the past, but only larger ones on vacation.

Delton then said, “It’s OK for little girls to sleep with me, but not big ones.” I asked why, and he responded, “Because then I would have weird girl dreams.” He wouldn’t elaborate on what that meant; I’m not sure I want to know anyway!

Speaking of nighttime commotion, Aleisha asked me yesterday if I planned on getting up to see the lunar eclipse. I had seen one a few years back, and the only real reason to wake up in the middle of the night now would be to share it with the kids. But I was exhausted and waking Delton or Julia seemed like asking for trouble, so I decided against it.

Then, right before hopping into bed, I realized that Delton might need to be moved back to his bed anyway. So, I set my alarm for 2:30 and, sure enough, there he was fast asleep on my pillow. So, I pulled on a sweatshirt and my fleece-lined slippers and carried him downstairs and outside.

Initially, facing south, I couldn’t find the moon. Turned out to be much higher in the sky and further west than I supposed, and we managed to catch a quick glimpse before the chill chased us back inside. A few minutes later, Aleisha tried to see it from the kids’ bathroom window, but clouds were obscuring the view.

One thought on “Girl Dreams

Leave a Reply

